Fuchsia #3

Fuchsia #3

Fuchsia #3

The sun came out around 3 this afternoon, and as the day had been full ’til then, I was happy to get out into the garden to paint. A quiet garden full of flowers in the sun and the time to paint has to be Heaven on earth. It’s a meditation, a way of being fully in the present.

All summer most of the painting I’ve done have not been satisfactory as paintings in themselves, as end products, but they have been invaluable in that they have given birth to ideas. Ideas for larger, more thought-through paintings. I haven’t had the physical space or the time and materials to develop these ideas – yet. But by the end of the week I return to Jamaica and my studio, and will have with me so many sketches to develop, and a few shows to prepare for so plenty to do!

Hopefully good work will emerge. And perhaps in the developments of these ideas, the meditation will deepen. With this painting, I thought very much of my grandmother, being in her garden, painting her flowers, being the daughter of her daughter, and having my daughters here, also in this space. I know she is pleased, and pleased too that we are leading happy lives. Although she is not here, not in this physical world, I sense there is just a thin membrane between us, if only we knew how to cross it. With this painting the fuchsias’ stamen became a veil, a dainty moveable tasseled tissue that allows me to travel a little further towards her. This idea of otherworlds and layers, of being still and traveling within is an idea to explore. Of rich red hearty life and delicate pale sensitivity juxtaposed.

Leave a Reply

