Birthday Bouquet a.k.a Bee Heaven

"Birthday Bouquet", Oil on canvas, 42" x 58"

“Birthday Bouquet”, Oil on canvas, 42″ x 58″

My darling man surprised me with a beautiful bouquet for my birthday. Unbeknownst to him the roses were fading fast, so the next morning I pulled out this huge canvas and got to work. Pink is not my color, but I really enjoyed the challenge of gritting it up with a lot of dripping scarring marks – being a big piece you can get right up into it and enjoy the abstract nature of it, and I hope it’s not pretty….

I’ve always said I would like to reincarnate as a pollinating insect. What could be better? Landing on flowers, entering them, being enveloped in their scent…My darling man says this piece does that for him, brings him into the environment on a flower scale. That was not a conscious thought when painting it, but I like that it connects with my appreciation for the life of pollinating insects…

ON the wall now as I leave for Ireland later today. Glad to have finished it before going.

Leave a Reply

