Under the Petrea Tree, beside the Pool

20160828_092308

oil on canvas, 20″ x 28″

It’s been such a perfect summer, with plenty of rain and breeze, and anytime it has become unbearably hot it hasn’t lasted long, with more rain blowing in and cooling down the place, seeping into the garden and allowing the plants to thrive. No burning hills, no year-long drought and furnace skies blasting the island and killing life, which is what we had last summer and what I was dreading. Rather it’s been cool mornings, beautiful blossoming trees and greenery wherever you go, and here in my garden things have never been better. And then the delight of sharing it with my dear daughter, who having to recover from a tonsillectomy had to lie around languidly, creating gorgeous cameos wherever she went, so as she lay and relaxed I ran for my oil paints ( and table and solvents and easel and brushes) and tried to do her and the dappling light justice….

20160728_113536

sketch #1

20160728_130506

sketch #2

Lovely though it has been, this painting business is not easy. With every stage some spontaneous gestural marks that I really like have emerged, and trying to keep them and still be true to the pose and the light has been a problem, and time after time I fail. Motivation to keep at it alright, but it’s too bad that I lose so much as I progress. I rarely am satisfied with the finished piece as I grieve the loss of all those strokes that lie beneath…

Leave a Reply

